Weather Alert

49 Iowa Counties Declared Disaster Areas Following Derecho

(Radio Iowa) Governor Kim Reynolds has declared 49 Iowa counties state disaster areas as a result of Wednesday’s storm.



Reynolds says the forecast for yesterday’s storm — after the tornadoes last week that ravaged Kentucky and several other states — was worrisome.


Reynolds says Iowans did a good job of responding to the warnings that severe weather would sweep into Iowa Wednesday afternoon and evening.


Reynolds says while damage assessments are still underway, she would be surprised if Iowa would qualify for a presidential disaster declaration. That’s because storm damage must be significant and widespread to qualify for that federal assistance.

Ringgold, Union, Appanoose, Davis, Page, and Lucas counties were named among the 43 counties in the disaster declaration.

Connect With Us Listen To Us On