Ag Committees May Look Different After Tuesday’s Election

We’re five days away from the general election, and the results will determine the country’s path forward over the next four years. That of course includes agriculture policy, with several influential elections taking place in different states. Chris Clayton, DTN Ag Policy Editor, says Democrats are paying more attention to rural areas, as they were a key part of Donald Trump’s success four years ago.


Clayton says one of the most important races for the future of ag policy is going on in Minnesota.


As of last (Wednesday) night, Peterson is listed by as having just a 24-percent chance of retaining his seat against his Republican challenger, former Minnesota lieutenant governor Michelle Fischbach. Meanwhile, Republicans will need a new house ag leader, as Mike Conaway of Texas is retiring.

And the Senate will need a new ag leader following the retirement of longtime chairman Pat Roberts. The race to replace Roberts in Kansas is between a pair of doctors-turned-politicans, Democrat Barbara Bollier  and Republican Roger Marshall. Five members of the Senate Ag Committee are up for re-election, including Iowa’s Joni Ernst, who is trailing in most polls to Democratic challenger Theresa Greenfield. Should Democrats claim the majority in the Senate, Michigan’s Debbie Stabenow would become the committee’s new chair.