FEMA Approves Governor Parson’s Disaster Request

Missouri Governor Mike Parson says the Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved the state’s request for a major disaster declaration. Missouri will have 21 counties that will receive federal assistance in response to severe storms and flooding beginning in late June and continuing through July 1st. The Governor’s request included $10 million dollars in qualifying disaster-related expenses that have already been identified.

Local governments and eligible nonprofits in Andrew, Buchanan, Caldwell, Clinton, Daviess, Grundy, Holt, Livingston, and 12 other counties will receive reimbursements for emergency repair costs to roads and bridges. State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) has already begun efforts with the federal government to expand the incident period to include June 19-23 in order to maximize financial assistance to Missouri communities and eligible nonprofits.