Five Area Students Selected For 2022 Missouri Agribusiness Academy

Five area students are among 30 Missouri FFA and Missouri 4-H sophomores to be selected to attend the 2022 Missouri Agribusiness Academy.

The 30 high school sophomores were selected by the Missouri Department of Agriculture to spend a week in June in Kansas City exploring careers in agriculture, building leadership skills and learning more about farming, ranching and food production.

Beyond the summer agribusiness tour, MAbA members will have the opportunity to participate in Missouri State Fair activities, a winter Legislative Day and the MAbA graduation ceremony at the 2023 Missouri FFA Convention.

From our listening area the five selections are Gabriel Derks of King City, Gavin Rhode of Stewartsville, Ella Fischer of St. Joseph, Delaney Davies of Dawn, and Payton Rodgers from Savannah.

Since 1988, the Missouri Agribusiness Academy has awarded academy opportunities through a competitive application and interview process for high school sophomores interested in pursuing agriculture-related college degrees and careers.

Students selected for the 2022 class are:

Dayton Hoffman, Archie
Chase Schlup, California
Case Melzer, Harrisonville
Ryley Wood, Harrisonville
Annika Riekhof, Higginsville
Bailey Schneider, Warrenton
Nicole Benne, Warrenton
Mikaela Rojas, New Boston
Shelby Lewis, Centralia
Grant Oaks, Harris
Leah Thompson, Fredericktown
Gavin Graham, Farmington
Ty Bollinger, Jackson
Josey Meier, Jackson
Alex Porter, Dexter
Gabriel Derks, King City
Gavin Rhode, Stewartsville
Ella Fischer, St. Joseph
Delaney Davies, Dawn
Payton Rodgers, Savannah
Macy Stauffer, El Dorado Springs
Kallie Cloud, Carthage
Emma Robinson, Republic
Abigail Blakemore, Aldrich
Maelyn Wright, Neosho
Hailey White, Union
Benjamin Veasman, Brinktown
Alexa Hall, Dixon
Allison Boedges, Hermann
Maria Vedder, New Haven

For additional details about the 2022 Missouri Agribusiness Academy, as well as more information on the Department of Agriculture, please visit the Department online at Agriculture.Mo.Gov.