Iowa Area School Districts Approve Revenue Purpose Statement During Tuesday Elections

The Lamoni, Central Decatur, and Mount Ayr School District voters all approved their Revenue Purpose Statements which were on the ballot during the municipal and school board elections which were held Tuesday.

Central Decatur voters approved their Revenue Purpose Statement with about 75 percent of the vote. The district did not have any contested races on the ballot. Sean Saxton won the At-Large Director position. Andrew Sullivan was unopposed in District 2. Nick Tharp was unopposed in the District 3 position. L

Lamoni approved their Revenue Purpose Statement with a 92 percent vote majority. Michelle Dickey-Kotz, Nate Pierschbacher, and Zach Mullins were elected to the Lamoni School Board. There were 3 candidates for 3 positions.

In Decatur County’s municipal elections, Bob Frey was unopposed for Leon mayor. Trevor Brown was unopposed for an at-large position due to vacancy. Lamoni voted Nathaniel Silver and Jordan Olmstead to Council At-Large positions. Silver received 164 votes. Jordan Omstead received 139 votes. The others on the ballot were Steve Murdock, who received 101 votes, and Tom Carrall, who received 75 votes. Doug Foster was unopposed for Lamoni mayor. The City of Decatur approved their public measure which stated that the official name be only the “City of Decatur” and not known as the “City of Decatur” and the “City of Decatur City”.

The City of Decatur also approved 5 from a crowded field in the Council at Large election. The 5 receiving the most votes were Kim DeVore, Angela Kernen, Richard Perry, Doug Keller, and Tyler Perry. Travis Miller won the City of Decatur Mayor race with 26 votes. Daniell Dyer had 21 votes.

Davis City voted Carol Proctor, Arnold W. Thompson, June Kuster, Fred D. Simpson, and Cassy Alley into council at-large positions. Josh Alley was unopposed for Davis City Mayor.

Craig Stogdill won the contested race in Grand River for Mayor. He won by a 63 to 7 vote margin over LeeRay Dawn Flowers.

Click here for Decatur County Election Results

Mount Ayr School District voters approved their Revenue Purpose Measure with an 85 percent majority. Craig Winemiller was approved for the Director 1 position over Mark Budach 378-282. Patricia J. West won the Director 2 position with 374 votes. Brian Still had 280 votes. Samantha Jo Elliot won the At-Large position with 350 votes. Jim Uhlenkamp had 297.

In the City of Mount Ayr, Chandra Poore, Jessica Murphy, and Rachael Rumple had the 3 highest votes totals of those on the ballot.

Click here for Ringgold County Election Results