Weather Alert

Minimum Wage to Raise on January 1st

The Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations says the state minimum wage rate for 2022 has been set at $11.15 per hour for private employers. It becomes effective on January 1st of 2022.

Missouri’s minimum wage increases 85 cents per hour through 2023. That is part of Proposition B, which was approved by Missouri voters in 2018.

All private businesses are required to pay at a minimum, the $11.15 hourly rate, except retail and service businesses whose gross annual sales are less than $500,000. Missouri’s minimum wage law does not apply to public employers, nor does it allow the state’s minimum wage rate to be lower than the federal minimum wage rate.

Compensation for tipped employees must also total at least $11.15 per hour. Employers are required to pay tipped employees at least 50 percent of the minimum wage, plus any amount necessary to bring the employee’s total compensation to a minimum of $11.15 per hour.



Connect With Us Listen To Us On