Most CAFNR Field Days to Be Held Virtually

With the exception of the Graves-Chapple research Center near Rock Port, the University of Missouri College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources (CAFNR) Agricultural Research Centers have announced the annual field days for 2020 will be held virtually.

That decision came after discussions with local health departments and advisory boards.

The Graves-Chapple Research Center is the only Research Center that will host an in-person field day and will follow all CDC guidelines for social distancing. The decision to host an in-person field day came after much discussion with local health officials and its advisory board. That event is slated for Tuesday, August 25.

As with any event during the pandemic, it is subject to cancellation if conditions change.

The Field Day events allow the Research Centers to offer educational presentations and demonstrations through a variety of events throughout the state. Those events offer regionally specific data and information that farmers and producers use to improve their own operations.

For the virtual events, the field day schedule will remain the same. Most Research Centers will offer a schedule of prerecorded presentations on a variety of topics debuting the day of the scheduled field day. Those topics range from cover crops to industrial hemp to rotational grazing.

The recordings can be found through each Center’s website and Facebook page, as well as a special CAFNR webpage. All presentations are free and open to any member of the public.

 

2020 Field Day Schedule (Dates Subject to Change)

Greenley Research Center – Tuesday, Aug. 4

Hundley-Whaley Research Center – Tuesday, Aug. 11

Graves-Chapple Research Center – Tuesday, Aug. 25

Fisher Delta Research Center – Friday, Aug. 28

Bradford Research Center – Thursday, Sept. 3

Southwest Research Center – Thursday, Sept. 10

Forage Systems Research Center – Tuesday, Sept. 15

Thompson Research Center – Thursday, Sept. 24

Wurdack Research Center – Friday, Oct. 2

Horticulture and Agroforestry Research Center – Saturday, Oct. 3

Baskett Research Center – Tuesday, Oct. 13

South Farm Research Center – Tuesday, Oct. 20