Seven Northwest Missouri Counties Added to Chronic Wasting Disease Management Zone

The Missouri Department of Conservation reminds deer hunters that seven counties in northwest Missouri are now part of the state’s C-W-D Management Zone.

The counties include Caldwell, Carroll, Clay, Clinton, Grundy, Livingston, and Ray.

Deer that tested positive for chronic wasting disease last year in or near those counties prompted the change.

Hunters need to take deer harvested in those counties during the opening weekend of firearms deer season, November 11-12, to an M-D-C mandatory sampling station.

C-W-D sampling stations will be open from 7:30 a.m. to 8 p.m.

You can find sampling stations online at or in the 2023 Deer & Turkey Hunting Regulations and Information booklet.