2023 St Joseph Area Sports Hall of Fame Class Announced

The St. Joseph Sports Commission has announced the 2023 St. Joseph Area Sports of Hall of Fame Class!

Officially created in November of 2020, the St. Joseph Area Sports of Hall recognizes those individuals, families, teams, entities or significant feats/accomplishments that have made a significant impact on sports history in Buchanan County in which the inaugural induction class was enshrined in September 2021.

To be eligible for selection, the individual or team must have been born in Buchanan County, must have made their sports career or accomplished their feat in Buchanan County or must be contributing to sports in Buchanan County at the present time.

The 2023 Hall of Fame Class includes:

Dwayne Blakley – College Football and National Football League Tight End

Ann Marie (Brooks) Chappell – Elite Track & Field/Cross Country Runner

Kathleen (Heckman) Winegardner – Tennis Legend

Pete Kelley – Olympic Weightlifter

Brad Nurski – World Class Amateur Golfer

Martin Rucker – College Football and National Football League Tight End

Paul “Pop” Springer – High School Coaching Legend

Chris Tabor – National Football League Coach

Jim Wright – Major League Baseball Pitcher and Coach

1976 Lafayette High School Boys Basketball State Champions

Jane Wood – Special Olympics Area Athlete Of The Year

In addition, the Second Annual Coach Bill Snyder Woman of Impact Award will be presented by Coach Snyder.  The award recognizes a female athlete, coach, administrator or other outstanding feat accomplished in Buchanan County over the past year.  The award is named in Coach Snyder’s honor as a tribute to not only the impact that his mother made on his life and upbringing in our community but the impact of women in all levels of sport in celebration of Title IX.

The 2023 St. Joseph Area Sports Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony, being in held in memory and honor of the St. Joseph Sports Commissions’ founder and first chairman Frank O’Malley will be held on Sunday, August 27 at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center.  Social hour presented by Ellison-Auxier Architects begins at 4 PM with the enshrinement and presentation of awards beginning at 5 PM.