Southeast Missouri Lawmaker Says Missouri Conservation Commission Needs More Rural Representation

A southeast Missouri lawmaker says Missouri’s Conservation Commission needs more rural representation, and that commissioners should be elected. Annapolis GOP State Representative Chris Dinkins has filed legislation that would increase the commission’s membership to nine nonpartisan members: one appointed by the governor and eight elected from each Conservation region:

Missouri’s Conservation Commission currently has four members, appointed by the governor. The current commissioners are from Sikeston, Columbia, Kansas City, and Rolla. The House Conservation and Natural Resources Committee will hold a hearing on Dinkins’ legislation this (Monday) evening in Jefferson City. If lawmakers approve her resolution this session, it would go to the statewide ballot in 2022.