Winston Designates School Safety Grant Purchases At April Board Meeting

Winston School Board members received updates on their School Safety Grant projects during their April board meeting.

The district will use $50,000 from the school safety grant to purchase an additional AED, blood loss kits for every school classroom and vehicle, upgrade their security camera system, install intruder film on windows, install door alarms, and add intercoms.

The board increased the board paid contribution for health insurance by $72 per month per employee and will continue to fully fund the base insurance plan for employees.

Winston’s board formally approved their 2024 Summer School. It will be offered for Kindergarten through 12th grade students. It will be held June 3rd through June 27th, on Mondays through Thursdays, at 7:30am until 3:20pm each day. The school district has a registration link for summer school on the Winston School District’s website.

Some of the Extra Duty offers by the Winston District included Athletic Director, Varsity Boys Basketball, and Junior High Boys Basketball to Colby Peukert, Varsity Girls Basketball, Junior High Track and Girls Basketball to Ryan Hutchcraft, High School and Junior High Cross Country to Melinda Uthe, and Academic Team to Andrew Cason.

The Winston board also reorganized at the session. Jeremy Pittsengarger and Wyatt Christensen were sworn in to new terms. Hydi Sheetz will be the President of the Winston School Board. Karla Youtsey will be Vice President. Aaron Piburn will be Secretary. Wyatt Christensen will be Treasurer.