Harrison County Commissioner Races Contested, To Be Decided In Primary

Tuesday was the filing deadline for county, state, and legislative candidates to file for the primary and general elections.

In Harrison County, there will be contested races for both District Commissioner seats, but both of the races will be decided in the August Republican primary. In the North District, incumbent Mike Smith will be opposed by former commissioner Rick Smith and Jerry Collins. In the South District, incumbent Jim Holcomb will be opposed by Clint Graham.

The other races in Harrison County have one unopposed candidate. All candidates have filed as Republicans. Trevor Place has filed for Sheriff, Christina Chamberlin for Treasurer, Cheryl Coleman for Collector, and Kim King for Public Administrator. Andre Remmers will be uncontested for Harrison County Coroner.

In the legislative races, incumbent 6th District Congressman Sam Graves will be opposed in the Republican primary by Freddie Griffin Jr of Hamilton, Brandon Kleinmeyer of Kansas City, and Weldon Wray Woodward of Edina. The Democratic primary includes candidates Rich Gold of Mexico and Pam May of St Joseph. The Libertarian candidate is Andy Maidment of Kearney.

Among the state legislative races, 2nd District Representative Mazzie Christensen of Bethany is unopposed. 3rd District Representative Danny Busick of Newtown is unopposed. 1st District incumbent Representative Jeff Farnan will face Republican Primary opposition from Michelle Horner of King City. Republican Dean VanSchoiack is unopposed in District 9.

The Primary Election Day for Missouri is August 6th. The General Election Date is November 5th.