Missouri State Fair Announces Scholarship Recipients

The Missouri State Fair has announced the recipients of the Missouri State Fair and Youth in Agriculture Committee scholarships.

55 Missouri 4-H and FFA State Fair exhibitors have been awarded scholarships. The scholarships are awarded to youth who have previously exhibited at the Missouri State Fair, fill out an application, and are selected based on Missouri State Fair participation, grade point average, community involvement, and leadership.

$1,500 scholarships were awarded to Kade “Newt” Hodge of New Hampton, Sam Derks of King City, Hailey Eads of Trenton, Anisten Houghton of Hamilton, Ella Johnson and Clare Walker of Chillicothe, Wyatt Gilmer of Polo, Chase Simmons of Unionville, and Karlie Waterman of Wheeling.

The $5,000 Wayne Yokley Platinum Scholarship wen to to Gentry Duncan of Centertown. Ahna Inex Sinclair of Montgomery City received the $3,500 Sharon Topliff Scholarship. Alice Reid of Concordia was selected for the $2,500 supreme scholarship. Allison Pollard of Macon, Mason Forkner of Richards, Ava Kemper of Hawk Point, and Avery Weigand of Cairo were also selected for $2,500 supreme scholarships.

The students are seeking higher education at a university/college of their choice and will be recognized on April 21st during the annual State FFA Convention in Columbia.